top of page

My 5 Easy Go-to Healthy Crockpot Meals

When I was in law school, I had minimal free time, if any. I was working, interning, trying to maintain a regular workout routine, and attempting to balance social and family engagements with my studies. Cooking my meals was the last thing I had time for every day. Sound familiar?


One time, I remember studying flashcards on my phone for the Bar exam while I was at a baseball game. I wasn't about to miss Big Papi hitting a homer at Camden Yards. (The picture quality isn't great I know - it was an older iPhone version, GUYS. Get off my back)


So maybe you're an overworked, sleep-deprived professional, student, or busy parent busting your behind to get everything done in a day. The thought of standing over a stove for hours or even 20 minutes a night to cook dinner isn't appealing to me and quite frankly, isn't something I have time for. So while I was in school (and now as a working professional), I generally defer to a handful of crockpot recipes that are simple, idiot-proof and delicious. Take a few hours on your Sunday and make these ahead of time to make your life less hectic during the week or throw in the ingredients in the morning before you head off to work or class and you'll have a healthy meal waiting for you when you get home.


1. Chicken Salsa



Throw 3-4 chicken breasts into the crockpot, 1 can super sweet corn, 1 can black beans, and top it off with half a jar of salsa of your choice. Sometimes I use different flavored salsas like pineapple or peach. You can also try adding a half jar of regular salsa and half jar of peach preserves for super tasty peach salsa chicken. Add in some chili pepper, pepper and paprika and mix everything together. My crockpot is pretty powerful so this is usually done within 5 hours or so. You can eat it solo or with a tortilla and obvi add some avocado to make it extra mouth-watering.


2. Spaghetti Squash with Meatballs



Pour 1 can (14 oz) tomato sauce, 2 tbsp olive oil, garlic (4-6 cloves), and however much pepper, basil and oregano you want into the crockpot and stir. Cut spaghetti squash in half and scoop out the seeds as best you can then place the halves face-side down into the crockpot. Roll 1 lb. ground Italian sausage (I use ground turkey) into "meatballs." Fit as many as you can into the sauce around the spaghetti squash halves. Let cook for 3-5 hours on medium. Let cool then with a fork, pull the "spaghetti" strands out of the squash and top with the meatballs and sauce.


3. Mediterranean Egg Casserole


Breakfast food is almost my favorite food (it's a close second to Mexican food, the best food). Since eggs are delicious and so good for you, I often eat eggs for breakfast and dinner.



Layer the bottom of the crockpot with mushrooms, bell peppers, artichoke hearts, spinach, and sun dried tomatoes. Sprinkle with swiss cheese. Add a couple more layers of veggies and sprinkle with cheese. Don't go HAM on the cheese, people. Keep it healthy. Crack 8 or so eggs into a bowl and whisk with milk if you prefer. Add pepper for taste. Pour egg mixture evenly over veggies (you can top with more cheese if you want). Let cook 6-8 hours on low until eggs are set.


4. Buffalo Chicken



Put 3-4 chicken breasts into crockpot and pour a generous amount of buffalo or hot sauce over them. I sometimes add garlic powder, pepper, and/or cayenne. Let cook on medium for 6-8 hours. Shred the chicken using two forks and let cool. I sometimes bake a sweet potato and eat the chicken with that or simply eat it with some celery.


5. Slow Cooker Roasted Vegetables



Veggies of your choice: diced sweet potatoes, butternut squash, zucchini (they cook quick so make sure you cut them thicker), chopped baby carrots, diced sweet onion, green peppers, asparagus, snap peas, green beans, etc. Drizzle extra light virgin olive oil and toss vegetables. Add pepper to taste. Let cook on medium 6-8 hours and enjoy!


Try these recipes out and let me know what you think! Hopefully, these easy crock-pot meals with help you manage your busy weeks and eat healthy along the way! Until next time, fitness friends :)









bottom of page